Our Books

   The Inspector Abbs Novels

Autumn 1873. Inspector Abbs and Sergeant Reeve are sent to investigate their first case of murder. At the small town of Seaborough on the Devon coast, a wealthy spinster has died suddenly in suspicious circumstances.
Some local businessmen have ambitious plans to see the seaside resort expand. Was Miss Chorley killed because she stood in their way?  Or beneath the elaborate rituals of mourning, does the answer lie closer to home? Behind the Nottingham lace curtains, residents and visitors have their schemes and secrets. As Inspector Abbs makes an enemy, the two detectives race against time to solve a baffling mystery. When a second body is found, Abbs and Reeve must untangle the past to find answers. Not realising that uncovering the truth may prove dangerous…

Christmas 1873. Inspector Abbs is visiting his sister in a lonely village on the edge of the Norfolk Fens. He is hoping for a quiet week while he thinks over a decision about his future. However all is not well in Aylmer. Someone has been playing malicious tricks on the inhabitants. With time on his hands and concerned for his sister, Abbs feels compelled to investigate…This complete mystery is a novella of around 33,000 words. The events take place shortly after the first full-length Inspector Abbs novel, A Seaside Mourning.

The William Quest Novels

A mysterious stranger carrying a swordstick walks the gaslit alleys and night houses of Victorian London. What is he seeking? London in 1853 – a mist-shrouded city where the grand houses of the wealthy lie a stone’s throw from the vilest slums and rookeries of the poor. Who is this man so determined to fight for justice against all the wrongs of Victorian society? What are the origins of the mysterious William Quest? In a pursuit from the teeming streets of London to the lonely coast of Norfolk, Inspector Anders of Scotland Yard is determined to uncover the truth. To an explosive climax where only one man can walk away…

A reign of terror sweeps through the Victorian underworld as a menacing figure seeks to impose his will on the criminals of London. On the abandoned wharves of the docklands and in the dangerous gaslit alleys of Whitechapel, hardened villains are being murdered, dealers in stolen goods and brothel keepers threatened. The cobbles of the old city running with blood, as pistol shots bark out death to any who resist.Who can fight back to protect the poor and the oppressed? The detectives of Scotland Yard are baffled as the death toll mounts. There is, of course, William Quest – Victorian avenger. A man brought up to know both sides of the law. But Quest faces dangers of his own. Sinister watchers are dogging his footsteps through the fog, as Quest becomes the prey in a deadly manhunt, threatened by a vicious enemy, fighting for his life in a thrilling climax in the most dangerous rookery in Victorian London. Dead Quest or deadly quest?

A Sean Miller Adventure

How do you hunt down a faceless assassin before his ultimate kill? You get Sean Miller… Sniper. Mercenary. Adventurer. He’ll stop at nothing. Do whatever it takes. As the shadow of the Nazis falls across Europe, a sinister conspiracy begins a secret war closer to home. Miller’s chase leads from the dangerous alleys of London’s East End to the lonely glens of the Scottish Highlands. But where do his loyalties really lie?  Who will take the final shot in the Balmoral Kill?

The Inspector Chance Novels

Inspector Eddie Chance – Edgar if you want to annoy him – is back in his home town, the sleepy Sussex resort of Tennysham-on-Sea, newly promoted as head of the town’s Criminal Investigation Department. It’s 1931 and Tennysham’s getting ready for the first day trippers of the season. Inspector Chance thinks his worst problem is the town’s only police-woman who has ambitions to be a detective.
That is… until a body is found on the promenade.
A gripping 1930s murder mystery set in a pre-war England of typewriters, telephone boxes and tweeds. The first in a new series of period British police procedurals.
 The Holly House Mystery
December 1931. Inspector Chance investigates a country house mystery in a snow-bound Sussex village. Family and guests are gathered for Christmas at Holly House. A body is discovered near the ruins in the grounds. And only one set of footprints in the snow…
Can Inspector Chance solve the murder before Scotland Yard is called in? The Holly House Mystery is a 34000 word novella, complete in itself, the second book in the Inspector Chance Mystery Series. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Holly-Mystery-Inspector-Chance-Novella-ebook/dp/B01N4GCWHR/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1492353178&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Holly+House+Mystery

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s